Nevada Gun Laws 2024

Project ar15 Jan 27, 2024
5 People Read
Nevada Gun Laws

Here is Review of Firearms Laws in Nevada


Possession of a Firearm in Nevada


In Nevada, individuals who are at least 18 years old and not prohibited by law can possess firearms, including handguns and long guns (rifles and shotguns). Persons convicted of certain crimes, deemed mentally ill, or subject to restraining orders may be prohibited from possessing firearms.


Firearm Purchase


Purchasing a firearm from a licensed firearms dealer in Nevada requires a background check. Private sales and transfers between individuals do not require a background check. To buy a handgun, individuals must be at least 21 years old. For long guns, the minimum age requirement is 18. Individuals purchasing firearms must complete the ATF Form 4473 and pass a background check conducted by the FBI's National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS). Certain individuals, such as felons, fugitives, those convicted of domestic violence offenses, and those subject to restraining orders, are prohibited from purchasing firearms.



Open Carry of Firearms in Nevada

In Nevada, open carry of firearms is legal for individuals who are at least 18 years old and not prohibited by law.


Is a Permit Required For Concealed Carry in Nevada?

Nevada is a "shall issue" state for concealed carry permits. Individuals who are at least 21 years old and meet the eligibility criteria can apply for a concealed carry permit. The permit is issued by the sheriff of the applicant's county of residence and is valid statewide. Applicants must complete a firearms safety course approved by the sheriff and pass a background check. Nevada also recognizes concealed carry permits issued by other states, subject to certain conditions.


Carrying firearms in certain locations, such as schools, government buildings, airports, and private property with posted restrictions, may be prohibited.

Grade: B


Gun Laws By State

Alabama Gun Laws 2024

Alaska Gun Laws 2024

Arizona Gun Laws 2024

Arkansas Gun Laws 2024

California Gun Laws 2024

Colorado Gun Laws 2024

Connecticut Gun Laws 2024

Delaware Gun Laws 2024

Florida Gun Laws 2024

Georgia Gun Laws 2024

Hawaii Gun Laws 2024

Idaho Gun Laws 2024

Illinois Gun Laws 2024

Indiana Gun Laws 2024

Iowa Gun Laws 2024

Kansas Gun Laws 2024

Kentucky Gun Laws 2024

Louisiana Gun Laws 2024

Maine Gun Laws 2024

Maryland Gun Laws 2024

Massachusetts Gun Laws 2024

Michigan Gun Laws 2024

Minnesota Gun Laws 2024

Mississippi Gun Laws 2024

Missouri Gun Laws 2024

Montana Gun Laws 2024

Nebraska Gun Laws 2024

Nevada Gun Laws 2024

New Hampshire Gun Laws 2024

New Jersey Gun Laws 2024

New Mexico Gun Laws 2024

New York Gun Laws 2024

North Carolina Gun Laws 2024

North Dakota Gun laws 2024

Ohio Gun Laws 2024

Oklahoma Gun Laws 2024

Oregon Gun Laws 2024

Pennsylvania Gun Laws 2024

Rhode Island Gun Laws 2024

South Carolina Gun Laws 2024

South Dakota Gun Laws 2024

Tennessee Gun Laws 2024

Texas Gun Laws 2024

Utah Gun Laws 2024

Vermont Gun Laws 2024

Virginia Gun Laws 2024

Washington Gun Laws 2024

West Virginia Gun Laws 2024

Wisconsin Gun Laws 2024

Wyoming Gun Laws 2024