Missouri Gun Laws 2024

Project ar15 Jan 27, 2024
9 People Read
Missouri Gun Laws

Missouri Firearms Laws Summary


Firearm Ownership and Possession in Missouri


Any person aged 18 or older who is not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm may legally own a firearm in Missouri. Missouri does not require a permit or license to possess or purchase a firearm for individuals who are 18 years or older.


Private Purchase and Sale of firearms


Missouri does not require background checks or a permit to purchase firearms from private sellers. Licensed firearms dealers are required to conduct a background check through the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) before selling a firearm to an individual. Exceptions exist for certain individuals, such as law enforcement officers. Missouri does not have a waiting period for firearm purchases.


Gun Friendly Missouri Adopts Constitutional Carry


Missouri is a "shall issue" state, meaning that if you meet the eligibility requirements, the sheriff must issue you a concealed carry permit. To obtain a concealed carry permit, you must be at least 19 years old (18 for military personnel), complete an approved firearms training course, and meet other state requirements. Missouri has adopted a form of "Constitutional Carry" known as "Missouri Carry and Conceal." This means that if you are 19 years or older (or 18 for military personnel), you can carry a concealed firearm without a permit, provided you meet the eligibility criteria and follow other state and federal laws.


Open Carry

Missouri generally allows open carry of firearms without a permit.


Prohibited Possession


Missouri prohibits the possession of firearms by individuals who have been convicted of certain crimes, including felony offenses and domestic violence offenses. Individuals subject to certain restraining orders or with mental health-related disqualifications are also prohibited from possessing firearms.

Grade: A+


Gun Laws By State

Alabama Gun Laws 2024

Alaska Gun Laws 2024

Arizona Gun Laws 2024

Arkansas Gun Laws 2024

California Gun Laws 2024

Colorado Gun Laws 2024

Connecticut Gun Laws 2024

Delaware Gun Laws 2024

Florida Gun Laws 2024

Georgia Gun Laws 2024

Hawaii Gun Laws 2024

Idaho Gun Laws 2024

Illinois Gun Laws 2024

Indiana Gun Laws 2024

Iowa Gun Laws 2024

Kansas Gun Laws 2024

Kentucky Gun Laws 2024

Louisiana Gun Laws 2024

Maine Gun Laws 2024

Maryland Gun Laws 2024

Massachusetts Gun Laws 2024

Michigan Gun Laws 2024

Minnesota Gun Laws 2024

Mississippi Gun Laws 2024

Missouri Gun Laws 2024

Montana Gun Laws 2024

Nebraska Gun Laws 2024

Nevada Gun Laws 2024

New Hampshire Gun Laws 2024

New Jersey Gun Laws 2024

New Mexico Gun Laws 2024

New York Gun Laws 2024

North Carolina Gun Laws 2024

North Dakota Gun laws 2024

Ohio Gun Laws 2024

Oklahoma Gun Laws 2024

Oregon Gun Laws 2024

Pennsylvania Gun Laws 2024

Rhode Island Gun Laws 2024

South Carolina Gun Laws 2024

South Dakota Gun Laws 2024

Tennessee Gun Laws 2024

Texas Gun Laws 2024

Utah Gun Laws 2024

Vermont Gun Laws 2024

Virginia Gun Laws 2024

Washington Gun Laws 2024

West Virginia Gun Laws 2024

Wisconsin Gun Laws 2024

Wyoming Gun Laws 2024