Mississippi Gun Laws 2024

Project ar15 Jan 27, 2024
8 People Read
Mississippi Gun Laws

Gun laws in Mississippi Prove to Be 2A Friendly 


Who Can Possess a Gun in Mississippi?


In Mississippi, individuals who are at least 18 years old can possess a rifle or shotgun. Individuals who are at least 21 years old can possess a handgun.


Firearms Purchase


Mississippi does not require a permit to purchase rifles, shotguns, or handguns. Background checks are generally not required for private sales or transfers of firearms between non-dealers. Federal laws still apply, meaning individuals who are prohibited from owning firearms at the federal level are also prohibited in Mississippi.


Is Concealed Carry Allowed in Mississippi?


Mississippi is a "shall-issue" state for concealed carry permits, meaning that if you meet the qualifications, the issuing authority must issue you a permit. To obtain a concealed carry permit, you must be at least 21 years old, a resident of Mississippi, and complete a background check. The Mississippi Department of Public Safety is responsible for issuing concealed carry permits. Mississippi recognizes permits from all states.

*Mississippi is a Constitutional Carry State


Open Carry


Mississippi allows open carry of firearms without a permit for individuals who are at least 18 years old. However, some restrictions apply, such as the prohibition of open carry in certain locations, including government buildings, schools, and establishments that serve alcohol.


Restrictions and Prohibitions


Mississippi law prohibits the possession of firearms by certain individuals, including convicted felons, individuals with domestic violence convictions, and those adjudicated as mentally ill. It is illegal to carry a firearm while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Grade: A+


Gun Laws By State

Alabama Gun Laws 2024

Alaska Gun Laws 2024

Arizona Gun Laws 2024

Arkansas Gun Laws 2024

California Gun Laws 2024

Colorado Gun Laws 2024

Connecticut Gun Laws 2024

Delaware Gun Laws 2024

Florida Gun Laws 2024

Georgia Gun Laws 2024

Hawaii Gun Laws 2024

Idaho Gun Laws 2024

Illinois Gun Laws 2024

Indiana Gun Laws 2024

Iowa Gun Laws 2024

Kansas Gun Laws 2024

Kentucky Gun Laws 2024

Louisiana Gun Laws 2024

Maine Gun Laws 2024

Maryland Gun Laws 2024

Massachusetts Gun Laws 2024

Michigan Gun Laws 2024

Minnesota Gun Laws 2024

Mississippi Gun Laws 2024

Missouri Gun Laws 2024

Montana Gun Laws 2024

Nebraska Gun Laws 2024

Nevada Gun Laws 2024

New Hampshire Gun Laws 2024

New Jersey Gun Laws 2024

New Mexico Gun Laws 2024

New York Gun Laws 2024

North Carolina Gun Laws 2024

North Dakota Gun laws 2024

Ohio Gun Laws 2024

Oklahoma Gun Laws 2024

Oregon Gun Laws 2024

Pennsylvania Gun Laws 2024

Rhode Island Gun Laws 2024

South Carolina Gun Laws 2024

South Dakota Gun Laws 2024

Tennessee Gun Laws 2024

Texas Gun Laws 2024

Utah Gun Laws 2024

Vermont Gun Laws 2024

Virginia Gun Laws 2024

Washington Gun Laws 2024

West Virginia Gun Laws 2024

Wisconsin Gun Laws 2024

Wyoming Gun Laws 2024